BIS Registration.

Nowadays, almost every product needs a genuineness mark to authenticate its purity. BIS (Bureau of Indian Standards) Certification is a way of ensuring customers about the quality and standards of a product. Through this certificate, buyers get the assurance that a product is safe for use. Moreover, it is pertinent to note that obtaining BIS Certification is optional for various products in India. However, there are some products for which the certification has been made compulsory by the Indian Government, taking into consideration public health and safety.


The main objectives of BIS Certification are to protect and safeguard the health of the citizens; Offer quality assurance; Protect consumers from the Hazardous Products; and Boost consumer confidence.



What is BIS?

The term BIS stands for the “Bureau of Indian Standards”. It is a National Standard Body of India, consisting of 25 members and is engaged in the preparation, execution of standards, certification of schemes concerning products and testing and standardization services. The headquarter of BIS or the Bureau of Indian Standards is located in New Delhi. It also has five Regional Offices situated in Chennai (Southern), Kolkata (Eastern), Mumbai (Western), Delhi (Central), and Chandigarh (Northern).


In India, the Bureau of Indian Standards Act, 1986 acts as the governing force for the issuance of BIS Certification. Moreover, the BIS Act, 1986 was brought into force on 20.11.1986 and the enforcement of this act reduced the ambit of ISI (Indian Standard Institution) Mark. At present, over 350 BIS Registrations have been granted for over 50 Indian standards in 40 countries.

There have been hundreds of advertisements proudly proclaiming that the product bears ISI Mark. The term, “ISI” stands for the “Indian Standards Institute” which was established on 06.01.1947.

ISI is a national body which was established during the period of Independence to provide benefits of standardisation to every consumer in India. However, by the end of the mid-80s, situations and conditions changed and it sparked off the need to have a stronger governing organisation. The reason for the same was that the ISI (Indian Standards Institute) did not have any authority regarding the formulation of standards and other associated work besides the product certification.

Therefore, to broaden up the scope and offer more power and control to the staff concerning assets and liabilities, the Government of India brought BIS (Bureau of Indian Standards) into the picture on 20.11.1986.



Who can apply for BIS Certification?

All Manufacturers of the products notified under the Compulsory Registration Scheme, whether located in India or outside India need to obtain registration under CRS. However,

  • A separate Registration number must be obtained for the products manufactured or produced at different locations.
  • A separate Registration number must be obtained for each brand or product manufactured or produced at the same place.

Which Products come under the criteria of BIS Registration?

The products which come under the criteria of mandatory BIS registration are bifurcated into 2 sub-parts listed below:

The following list comprises of the products that fall under Scheme 1 (Mark Scheme):

  • Cement;
  • Household electrical goods;
  • Batteries;
  • Food and related products;
  • Oil pressure stoves;
  • Automobile accessories;
  • Cylinders, Valves, and Regulators;
  • Medical Equipment;
  • Steel and Stainless-steel Products;
  • Electrical Motors;
  • Electrical Transformers;
  • Capacitors;
  • Chemicals and Fertilizers.


What are BIS Certification Schemes?

The BIS Certification scheme hold the world’s largest rank with over 26,500 Licensees and include more than 900 products. The BIS Certification allows Manufacturers or Licensees to use ISI (Indian Standards Institute) mark on their products. Thus, it provides a sense of guarantee to the consumer that the manufactured/ produced products have the best quality. Further, BIS runs the Foreign Manufacturers Certification Scheme that offers the facility to overseas producers/manufacturers to use the BIS (Bureau of Indian Standards) Standard Mark. At present, BIS has issued over 350 Certificates to nearly 50 Indian Standards in 40 different nations.


What is the Validity Period prescribed for BIS Certification?

The BIS certification is valid for two years. Moreover, BIS Certification can be further renewed if there is no change in the prescribed standards and concerned product. Also, the renewed certificate will be valid for a minimum of one year and a maximum of five years.

The renewal of the certificate is subject to an annual license fee along with an advance minimum marking fee. However, in case the application for getting the certificate renewed is filed after the expiry period of the certificate, the applicant is required to pay a late fee of INR 5000.


Can we help you?
call uswhastapp